UC launches attack

THE University of Cebu (UC) Webmasters were relentless on defense and consistent in offense. They made it to the winner’s column at the expense of the University of Southern Philippine Foundation (USPF) Panthers, following a masterful 80-67 victory in the 2013 Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. (Cesafi) basketball tournament at the Cebu Coliseum last night.

Power forward Kenneth Niones delivered 20 points, on top of seven rebounds and two
assists, while shooter Kim Gomez finished with 20, two rebounds, three assists and four steals to help the two-time champions pick their first victory of the season. (READ MORE)

Long wait finally over

TAGBILARAN, Dumaguete and Danao City have taken turns hosting the Central Visayas Regional Athletic Association Cviraa. Cebu has skipped this duty for a long time.

This changes this year as Cebu City plays host to the regional sporting conclave in the first week of December. The last time Cebu hosted the Cviraa was in 2000. (READ MORE)

DBTC kids in UK trip

FOUR talented Cebuano footballers will get a football experience of a lifetime with a three-week educational and training camp in Longborough, United Kingdom.

Right winger Josh Rupert Asignar, defender Tristan Karl Enad, midfielder Yuan Josemari Reña and left winger Charles Unabia, all from Don Bosco Technology Center (DBTC), earned a slot in the 22-member Philippine Under-11 squad that will travel to UK. (READ MORE)

Cebuanos bag 3rd in Dubai tourney

DUBAI—A team of former college standouts and weekend warriors from Cebu won third place in the Pinoy Futbol Club (PFC) Regional Tournament, which concluded last Friday at the International Football Academy in Dubai, UAE. Team Cebu scored a come-from-behind 2-1 win over Luzon in a knockout match to end its roller-coaster ride in the seven-a-side tournament on a high note.

Ashley Soquena broke a 1-1 deadlock in the 23rd minute to ensure a podium finish for the Cebuanos. Reynante Esparcia earlier equalized for Cebu two minutes after Don Batang gave Luzon the lead in the ninth minute. (READ  MORE)

Mission accomplished

THE Cebu City Central School (CCS) and the University of San Carlos Basic Education reclaimed their dominance in the Milo Little Olympics elementary and secondary cheerdance competition in yesterday’s opening salvo of the 18th Milo Little Olympics Visayas Elimination at the Cebu City Sports Center.

CCS beat Don Vicente Rama Memorial Elementary and St. Paul College Foundation Inc. for the title. (READ MORE)

CEC Dragons gun for solo lead

THE Cebu Eastern College Dragons are looking to solidify their lead in the Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. (Cesafi) juniors division as they face an equally solid squad, the University of San Carlos, in today’s curtain-raiser at 5 p.m.

CEC, which holds a 3-0 win-loss record, recently came off a huge victory over another title-favorite, University of the Visayas Baby Lancers, by 20 points, 85-65, last Sunday. They hope to ride on this momentum when they face the Britt Reroma-led Warriors. (READ MORE)

PHL routs Japan

AFTER that loss against Chinese Taipei, a lot of questions were raised against the Philippines. Last night, Gilas Pilipinas answered them all, showing tremendous defense and tenacity in offence in routing Japan, 90-71, in the second round of eliminations in the Fiba Asia Men’s championships.

The Philippines is now 2-1 in Group E—where the top three teams of Groups A and B are pooled—trailing Qatar (3-0) and Chinese Taipei (3-0), which won earlier. (READ MORE)

Cobra Ironman’s new king

ALL he wanted was a romantic getaway in a tropical island, but two-time Olympian Courtney Atkinson ended up beating fellow Australians to rule the pro men’s division of the Cobra Energy Drink 70.3 Ironman Philippines yesterday at the Shangri-La Mactan Resort and Spa in Lapu-Lapu City.

Atkinson, a veteran of the 2008 and 2012 Olympics who has seven International Triathlon Union titles, finished the 1.9-kilometer swim, 90-kilometer bike and 21-kilometer run in 3:58:07. He was more than a minute ahead of three-time champion Pete Jacobs (3:59:09), who settled for second despite slashing some seven minutes from his time last year. David Dellow was third in 4:02:22, while two-time world champion Chris McCormack was fourth in 4:02:22. Brent McMahon got fifth place in 4:04:05. READ MORE